Landing the coveted Freelance Journalist of the Year Award is nothing to be sneezed at.

The award, run by the Walkley Foundation, has honoured some of the country’s best recognised freelance journalists over the years, and we’re all watching closely to see who will take out the gong this year.

The Freelance Journalist of the Year Award recognises the unique contribution that freelance journalists make across all media platforms to the future of the industry and is open to residents of either Australia or New Zealand. The winner will receive a full pass to Storyology 2018 and two tickets to the Walkley Awards Gala Dinner.

Last year, Jo Chandler won for Climate of Change – a body of work published in The Monthly and Background Briefing, and broadcast on ABC Radio National. Her Monthly article can be read here:

Judging criteria

The Freelance Journalist of the Year will be chosen on the basis of journalistic excellence.  Judging will be for a body of work (3 pieces) published or broadcast in any medium. The criteria used for judging will include:

  • Research
  • Storytelling ability
  • Originality and innovation
  • Tangible public benefit
  • Accuracy and ethics
  • Excellent use of the medium/media

Judges will take into regard the resources available and entrants should be explicit about their available resources in their statements.

Thanks to the generous support of Media Super, the entry fee for this award has been reduced from $150 to $50 to make the awards accessible to a more diverse range of freelance journalists. Entry remains free for MEAA members.

Entries are now open for the 2018 Walkley Mid-Year Awards. Finalists for the awards will be announced over the course of the week commencing May 28, and winners will be announced at a ceremony in Sydney on July 18. Entries close at midnight on Thursday, April 26, 2018.


Find out more.


Leave a Reply